SOMEONE OF MY OWN

I knew from the beginning
       That you were just a flirt
Yet I fell in love with you
       Knowing that I’d be hurt

I thought that I could tie you down
       Be your only one
But how could I do something
       Someone already’d done

I know you’ll never love me,
       I’m trying not to cry
But I must try to find a way
       To say to you goodbye

When you ask for me again
       You’ll find me not there
I want a love to call my own
       Not one I have to share

I’ll hide my broken heart
       Behind laughter and a smiling face
E’en though you’ll think I never cared
       No one will ever take your place

©sjs020205👼🏻
Revised sjsroberts021405

Leave a Reply

